The Mirror Man: The most chilling must-read thriller of 2023

£7.495
FREE Shipping

The Mirror Man: The most chilling must-read thriller of 2023

The Mirror Man: The most chilling must-read thriller of 2023

RRP: £14.99
Price: £7.495
£7.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Like all Lars Kepler books, The Mirror Man is not for the faint of heart, and the story does not shy aware from the gory details of Caesar’s crimes, while managing to avoid the perverse titillation that some authors flirt with. And as much as I loved that murderer/villain I’m not sure I want them to come back for another book. I was gripped more by the first two chapters of this book than the entirety of the last three books i have. Keen eyed readers of this book series will notice by now that this review has yet to mention a certain character. When Detective Joona Linna realises that this murder appears to have a connection to a death that was declared a suicide years before they may have their first break.

Yet it never ever came close to losing me as a reader and actually pushed me forward wanting to know those answers and as I said everything is delivered in a very convincing way. Had the acts been less monstrous I might be more okay with it, because as I said, just because a person belongs to a certain group, in this case the person having DID, doesn’t make them saints. This added to the characters’ intrigue and made their dark, twisted actions all the more intriguing.

Jenny Lind was abducted on her way home from school and taken to a remote location where she and other girls face many horrors. It is a stand alone and there is some good background info but I would have liked to have started at the beginning. Lars Kepler at their best again with another bone chilling tale that is sure to keep the reader flipping pages well into the night. From the 17 million copy global bestseller Lars Kepler comes the darkest, most chilling crime thriller of 2022 - perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Ragnar Jonasson, and Alex North's The Whisper Man . Er zitten weer behoorlijk wat gruwelijke en harde stukken in (onder andere over de verdwenen meisjes).

I’m not completely mad that Kepler wrote the murderer this way because they written all kinds of murderers, some of them really scary (like abovementioned murderer but not going to say who because spoilers). Seems I have joined the party rather late; this is the 8 th book in the series and only the first one I have read. And this murderer in particular is very monstrous in the way that he and his mother have teenaged girls kidnapped, locked up in animal cages, and raped for YEARS) until they may or may not end up brutally killed. When one of his victims is found five years after her abduction hung up in a park, the police realize there is a creepy connection to a death that was declared a suicide. Joona Linna, el protagonista, ya es un viejo conocido para los que hemos seguido las novelas de Lars Kepler.Fast forward a few years later, and Jenny turns up dead, and the police’s only witness, Martin, who may be able to unlock the whole case, can’t remember anything from the night she was killed. Like I said these authors keep things smooth but the setting of the table took some time and hopped around a bit.

Aside from Joona, Kepler introduces two new characters who also serve as major actors in the mystery. The book carefully balances the competing, and correct, ideas that Joona has been irreparably damaged by his work and that he is absolutely essential to saving peoples’ lives. In a novel that is as intense as it is dark, the story pulls the reader into levels of depravity never thought imaginable.

When another girl goes missing the abduction has all the earmarks of the first and Joona decides they're the work of a serial killer. They lost their daughter five years earlier while she was ice fishing with Martin, and since then he has suffered with his mental health. But as the police close in on their suspect, Joona finds himself in a seemingly impossible race against time to save the lives of the murderer's next young victims. I would highly recommend these novels to anyone with time and a penchant for the darker psychologist thriller, alongside a police detective who will stop at nothing to get answers.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop