The Dream Team: Jaz Santos vs. the World (The Dream Team, 1)

£3.995
FREE Shipping

The Dream Team: Jaz Santos vs. the World (The Dream Team, 1)

The Dream Team: Jaz Santos vs. the World (The Dream Team, 1)

RRP: £7.99
Price: £3.995
£3.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Serious issues are explored with sensitivity and humour, creating a funny, moving and uplifting tale. It truthfully explores the sexism in society and schools, whereby boys get all the football equipment, time and investment, showing how girls are shut out of sport from the earliest age.

Before, during and after-reading questions test readers' story comprehension and develop vocabulary. Again, as I believe this was a debut, there's room for improvement and I hope the author focuses on developing her future plots in a more cohesive way. Ten-year-old Jaz feels her best playing football (soccer), and she's sure that if she can start her own girl's team and win the under-11s championship, it'll bring her recently-separated parents back together for sure. After spotting a flyer for a local girls’ football tournament, Jaz convinces a group of her classmates to form a team and enter the competition.

A really interesting read about a story of friendship, football and family as well as the problems family’s go through. Whether that be lies from school mates getting her banned from playing football (her favourite thing in the world), teachers and boys who thought the boys team was more important than her girls team, or her parents splitting up at home. You don't need to be a soccer(football) player or even know much about the sport to enjoy this story! But Jaz knows herself well enough to know that she wants, and she's determined and clever enough to push past the NOs and a system that's intent on maintaining the out-dated and incredibly sexist norms to go out and get what she wants: a girl's 7-on-7 soccer club.

Mante shows that young girls need support and belief from the adults around them, as well as belief in themselves, to excel. Exclusively with the print edition, readers can unlock online resources including a digital book, audio edition, lesson plans and answer keys. Telling the rags-to-riches tale of Bramrock Primary's first girls' football team, the novel is full of diverse characters who break plenty of sterotypes.Exciting, original and heart-warming' - Jacqueline Wilson'Priscilla Mante is an author to watch' - Aisha Bushby---A relatable, inclusive story about families, unlikely friendships and girl power. Overall the book has a nice story to it whilst also tackling or touching upon a few tough issues: bullying, sexism and parents splitting. So, what works: the diversity and representation of the characters, the very readable prose and the positive messages for the audience.

Boys’ and girls’ football is treated completely differently, regardless of the level it’s played at, and this stems from sexist ideas about what girls can and can’t do as well as boys can. Sexism is addressed head-on and I particularly enjoyed the real-life information about women's football that is worked into the story. If you have a child in your life who really loves football/soccer, you could gift them this book, as I think it will be enjoyable for them even if I didn't love it.A story of real life issues from a child’s point of view, I love the realistic events that occur in this story but most of all how strong minded and determined young Jaz is, her relationship with her family and her friends can only be described as true to life which makes the book relatable for all!

Jaz is finding school difficult and is being labeled a troublemaker, but things are also difficult for her at home because her parents are fighting a lot. A heart-warming, funny and accessible new series: Bend It Like Beckham for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Ella On The Outside. Her greatest goal in life is to play for England but for now she has to get through Year 6, while everything in her life is going wrong. The empowerment for girls/women, the building of unlikely friendships, the tackling of tough issues and a whole heap of laughs!Ultimately I decided it would be too mean to knock it down, particularly since it should be noted that I am not the target audience for this book.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop