The Book of Stolen Dreams (The Stolen Dreams Adventures): 1

£9.9
FREE Shipping

The Book of Stolen Dreams (The Stolen Dreams Adventures): 1

The Book of Stolen Dreams (The Stolen Dreams Adventures): 1

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

There are parallels to be drawn with chapters in history as well as certain events in today’s world, painting a grim picture of life under highly restrictive rules and regulations. I loved its slow introduction in the book and loved learning how it impacted the lives of these children. Fazit: Story mit wichtiger Message - etwas durcheinander dargestellt, aber, hinsichtlich der erschreckenden politischen Entwicklungen in Deutschland und Europa, so aktuell und wichtig wie nie zuvor. With a big heart and courage to match, she has a strong sense of justice and the importance to fight for what is right, even when the cost may seem to be too great to bear. The depiction of a regime that outlaws books and keeps children locked up at home while using a draconian police force to bug telephones, read private letters and spy on its citizens, gives readers a taste of how it might feel to live under an oppressive government.

The underlying commentaries on kindness, family, love and death kept the story interesting and gave me plenty to think about after I'd read it. This is a dystopian world of airships, dingy back alley streets and magical books that could bring back the dead, ruled by an oppressive Government with a hatred of children. An exhilarating, awe-inspiring debut from a master storyteller writing for children for the first time, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Katherine Rundell and Eva Ibbotson. We get to read the dreams that comprise this book, and these are wonderful little segment, not too long, but just right, and I wish the ARC had illustrations. A magical tribute to the wonder of books and reading, the debut children’s novel from playwright David Farr traces two children’s thrilling quest to find the missing page of an invaluable book and stop a calculating villain from claiming untrammelled power.I felt such powerful emotions reading about Robert and Rachel in the last chapter, it just overwhelmed me, which I didn't expect, but there you go. The Book of Stolen Dreams is a powerful story that puts the heroes in danger almost constantly, yet still delivers a highly emotional and satisfying ending. Talvez 10+ pudesse ser uma idade recomendada para a maturidade da história, que apesar de acabar bem, como era de esperar, está repleta de crime, violência, vilões, tortura, luto, entre outras temáticas mais pesadas.

The story follows Rachel and Robert’s quest to keep the book from Charles Malstain’s wicked grasp while trying to locate the crucial missing pages. With their father captured and everyone hunting for the Book, they must uncover its secrets and track down the final, missing page. David is known for his work on Spooks and his 2016 BBC adaptation of The Night Manager, starring Hugh Laurie and Tom Hiddleston. From time to time I love reading books that are mainly for young readers and this one was no exception. You guys are such a force for good and I am a passionate supporter of Indie booksellers, so I'm so happy this worked out well (I'd love to know how many books were sold if you have it to hand - it felt like quite a lot!

In this book we get to meet Rachel and Robert who are siblings and have had much loss and hardship in their young lives.

When I started reading this wonderful, fast-paced, action-packed adventure, I was strapped in for magic, adventure, mystery-solving. President Charles Malstain must have The Book of Stolen Dreams to survive his illness and thereafter live, in power, forever. What they are not expecting is to discover a family of ghosts, a door to the dead and that the Book grants the power of immortality. The overall atmosphere was fantastic, it was easy to imagine all the quirky clothing, from people having penguin hats to pointy noses that looked like beaks, to legs of dictators that looked like carrots.The start was okay, I could feel the love for their parents and especially their father but when it comes to the setting and world, not so much.

I loved the magic incorporated within the story and can't wait to see where the series takes us next. We are introduced to our protagonists, Robert and Rachel Klein, when they accompany their father to the lending library where he works. This experience has been fantastic primarily for the children, the school and also for me (professionally).

Hating children, he banned them from all fun child-centred activities, transforming these areas into.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop